You are the most annoying link. Goodbye.

I’m a fairly tolerant person. I can cope with a lot of things, working with children for over a decade has taught me patience as well as a whole host of other things.

Except. I hate text speak. Like really, really hate it.

I’ll admit that I’m a stickler for spelling, but I’m not a grammar nazi.

I’m sure at one time it would have been done to save money; to squeeze everything into one text message, and not exceed the character limit.

Now I think it’s laziness, and people can’t be bothered to type out words in full. I think it can be excused on rare occasion,and if you are under the age of sixteen.

Trying to decipher these cryptic letters is beyond me most of the time, I’m not kidding when I say my head starts to hurt. I would cite examples but I would rather eat the skin off my feet.

The only shorthand text speak I ever use is LOL, does that make me a hypocrite?

Should I reply to texts saying ‘I have found your statement quite amusing, and this is causing me to chuckle rather audibly’.

A few weeks ago I removed some FB friends, as my feed was filled with their text speak ramblings (I was pmt at the time) but I recall rejecting shaadi dot commies for this too, was that really harsh?

(You don’t have to answer these questions, I’m just waffling and it’s too much to tweet)

~ by Honest Waffle on 28/12/2010.

8 Responses to “You are the most annoying link. Goodbye.”

  1. I am also annoyed. People over 18 shouldn’t text that way. I myself don’t text, if I can help it. I call.

  2. I don’t mind it too much from others, although I hardly ever do it myself. In important/urgent situations, I’d relent a bit only if the textspeak are pretty obvious (like ‘ur’ or ‘tmr’ etc). Anything else beyond that is going to cause problems.

    • What’s ‘tmr’???

      • tmr = tomorrow. See what I mean about textspeak for urgent situations? If it’s like for R&R (rest and recreation), I’m 99% okay and not uptight with textspeak because, like, it doesn’t “impact” – namsayin’?

    • hehe, and I thought tomorrow = 2moro !

      • Sure, it’s 2moro too, but tmr is shorter and, therefore, more cost savings! Try these for size:

        tmr = tomorrow
        RV = rendezvous (well known to veterans)
        mtg = meeting
        wiv = with
        hv = have
        2day = today
        ltr = letter
        l8r = later
        88 (among Chinese) = byebye (8 rhymes with bye in Chinese)
        88 (among oldies) = love and kisses
        86 this comment = let’s end this comment because enough’s enough

        86 and 88s from Hong Kong,
        Rob

  3. Lol, I know where you coming from.

  4. haha yes. I like to write in full in my text messages, even if it’ll cost me money.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

