Just let me know…

…where I stand.

OK. So I’m not always the sharpest tool in the box, when it comes to guys anyway and reading signals.

A lot of times when I’ve had encounters (non potential partner situations) afterwards it’s been pointed out to me that ‘he really likes you’.

Huh? The thing is that I’m fairly consistent with everyone; guys, girls, family, friends, colleagues, neighbours, shop assistants etc. (Except I tell the girls more rude jokes) I’m nice, easygoing and normal, and if people are being friendly too, well I just think they are being nice and normal too? I genuinely don’t read anything into it. I don’t think this is naivety on my part as such, more a case of you get what you give.

My life would be so much easier if people actually just told me what they were thinking, or even give me a sign, or just didn’t beat around the bush so much. Finding out via a third or sometimes fifth party is a bit of a bummer, I really like confidence in a man, I find it extremely attractive, and it’s a definite bonus point earner.

Now I know guys will worry about being slapped down, I suppose I’m thinking more along the lines of where there is a gaggle of girlfriends that surround you…but how about an old-fashioned letter? or email? or flowers? And preferably within the week, not 8 months later.

There’s been a few times where I have taken the initiative, and the fact that it didn’t pan out hasn’t put me off. You know what they say nothing ventured and all that.  One guy I passed my name, number and message to whilst at an airport to collect somebody’s parents who were returning from Hajj (not mine, puhleese!)  He text me the next day to politely decline, and thank me for noticing him, as he was married. He was really hot though, and had stubble, and was wearing ethnic…

However, from a  girls point of view (a hijaabi girls anyway) sometimes it’s better to get your mates to scope the situation too.

So please. Just tell me what you’re thinking, and let me know what you’re feeling.

~ by Honest Waffle on 11/11/2009.

8 Responses to “Just let me know…”

  1. I commend you on your boldness! I would never be able to pass my contact information to a good-looking brother I was interested in…but I tell you…I wish I had the guts to do it. Perhaps its a bit of a double standard on my part…but I feel like brothers should be a little more up front in this regard. I have heard men on countless occasions say that they are unable to read the signs (just come out and say you like them)…I think the same goes for sisters. But please don’t profess you attraction to me in front of all my friends.

    I also usually have to have a friend blatantly point out that a certain brother likes me because apparently I’m too oblivious to notice.

    • HB – Why shouldn’t girls take the initiative? What if a guy was shy and never made the first move? I think as well that people aren’t sure if he/she will appreciate ‘being asked out’ as such, so as not to offend their reigious sensibilities.

      Shak – Yeah, I understand that, I actually do feel a bit sorry for guys, our girlfriends can be quite unforgiving. Rejections should always be respected, unless of course they ask your bra size.

      • >Rejections should always be respected, unless of course they ask your bra size.

        Well now, that just depends on the context, innit?

        Seriously though, rejections should be respectful whatever the circumstance. Just cos the person in question is a dick doesn’t mean we should be too.

      • Shak – LOL
        Reject with respect, true. Sometimes though it’s hard not to rise to the bait. And being the nice one gets you nowhere.

      • HW, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with it…I only wish I had the courage to do the same.

  2. I reckon it’s less about being rejected and now more about causing offence. I hear more stories about “losers” approaching my girl mates (“you wish, buddy”) than them being flattered and then humbly declining brave souls, and a good guy will never say something to the detriment of the well-being of a girl, especially if he likes her.

    Funnily enough the difference between a “loser” and a “brave soul” tends to have a correlation with the size of the guy’s biceps 🙂

  3. telling girls you like them is scary.

    It’s much easier to mock them and flirt innoscuously.

    a friend once told me I’m oblivious

  4. OH COME ON. 8 months later is the BEST time to inform you of his feelings. They and yours have had all that time to incubate and now they’re really really ready and ripe for the picking.

    REALLY.

Leave a Reply

 
