More wafflings

My dad told me a story about his friend’s daughter who got engaged to some dude, and his family were asking for a dowry. After the engagement their demands just increased, and the last straw was the request for a BMW, sports spec. Her Dad broke off the engagement, and he said that whilst I can afford it now, what if next year I can’t? And if they keep asking, and I can’t provide? It’s better that I stop this now, before I end up making a mess of my daughter’s future. I thought that was only bollywood fodder, obviously not. I really hope the find an amazing match for her.

I hate lateness. We had guests last night for dinner who arrived almost ninety minutes late, and not even the courtesy to call to say they were going to be late, and no apology when they finally arrived. Inconsiderate idiots. When they offered to dry dishes, I let them.

Sometimes it’s better to punish people who have wronged you by just ignoring them. This strategy was working pretty well for me for the last six months until something inside me broke a few days ago, and I offered an olive branch. The thing is though…when said person asked if I had missed them I told them the truth and said no. That didn’t go down very well.

I received lots of unexpected Christmas presents which was really nice. I think people have realised that I like the colour purple. I now have a stash of jewellery in various hues of it.

Next year I’m planning to go for Umrah and Hajj Inshallah, with my parents so I have two fabulous events to look forward to…I can’t wait. It will be my first trip to the Holy land and I’m really looking forward to it.

I haven’t done any sale shopping at all. There is honestly nothing I need anymore. Unless I see some fabulous shoes, but I’ve just not been motivated to go out and get crushed by maniacal shoppers who get excited over saving a tenner on something they didn’t need anyway.

Next year is going to be amazing Inshallah. I am determined I’m going to have a fabulous time no matter what life throws at me, good or bad. I’m just going to enjoy it. Plus I have so many cool things to look forward to…some of my closest friends are getting married and I can’t wait to be part of all the partying madness.

And lastly, I told my Mum last night that my new year resolution was that I was going to learn to cook. She almost choked on her drink with laughter.

~ by Honest Waffle on 27/12/2009.

5 Responses to “More wafflings”

  1. All the best for this year Miss 😉 And I agree, I’m all about just enjoying whatever I can this year. I’ve had enough worries and stress to last three lifetimes 😛

  2. Dude asking for a dowry. WTFUCK? Honestly? I swear opposites do attract. Anyway hope 2010 is amazing for you. It feels like something awesome is about to happen. Like we’re on the cusp of something great. Sorry just wanted to use the word cusp and tag you’re it.
    Hint here my wee lassie, if a boy wants a prize for proposing, tell him to go and screw himself, this isnt pre-colonial india and if he wants the nice things in life, there is such a thing as a job. else, dont get married.

  3. HW, where r u @, dude? comeon! show us u’r still alive… missed ur posts T_T

    about this one in particular, i had a blank face throughout. sure, the groom’s famo are being particularly distasteful and awkward, but, i truely don’t get this asian-culture thing where the guy is supposed to be “paid” (as most somalis see it, anyhow) to marry the bride (?!) i more agree with hamish’s point-of-view, above.

    more importantly… post more when u get the chance 🙂

    • I have been sooooooooooooooooooo busy! I do have more stuff to post about just not had the time to be honest. I will soon. Hope you are well.

  4. Saying ‘no’ to the ‘did you miss me question’ isn’t half as bad as telling someone ‘you’re more trouble than you’re worth’ – LOL:) I’ve said that… and the repercussions spiral into a whirlwind

Leave a Reply

 
